Navjot Sidhu da Shugal Mela

By 23rd September 2017 0 Comments

Congress leader Sunil Jakhar and BJP rival Swaran Salaria on Friday filed their nominations for the October 11 by-election in the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha constituency, with senior Congress leader Pratap Singh Bajwa a noticable absentee among leaders accompanying Jakhar.

Top Punjab Congress leaders, including Chief Minister Amarinder Singh and Cabinet Minister Navjot Singh Sidhu, accompanied Jakhar when he submitted his nomination papers for the seat, which Bajwa represented during 2009-14 after defeating actor and then three-time sitting MP Vinod Khanna of the Bharatiya Janata Party.Khanna, who regained the seat in 2014, died in April, necessitating the bypoll.
Bajwa, presently a Rajya Sabha MP and a former Punjab Congress chief, belongs to Gurdaspur district. His legislator wife Charanjit Kaur Bajwa also stayed away though his younger brother and legislator, Fatehjang Bajwa, was present.

Posted in: Punjab